RSS Feed

The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Viennese Waltzes

Nothing glorifies ballroom dancing more than the stereotypical scenes of the synchronized Viennese Waltz dancers. Ladies with their tiny waists and their full skirts are gliding around the floor with their tall, handsome, tuxedoed partners. Their elegance is equally matched by the mastery of Strauss’s 6/8 pulse and the grandeur of the gilded ballroom.

Now, here in 2010, I find that many of the movie soundtracks and various country and pop performers are realizing the appeal of the Viennese Waltz. This alternative pop group, Paramore, has a great Viennese tune out titled You are the Only Exception. Listen and watch.

See You on the Floor!

4 responses »

  1. I’ve heard this on the radio before and really liked it! Its fun to see the music video along with the music. Nice dance tempo, too!

    Reply
  2. And what about Dancing with the Stars using ‘These Arms of Mine’ by Otis Redding from ‘Dirty Dancing’? It was fabulous to watch Jennifer Grey and Derek Hough show us how exquisite a Viennese waltz could be. I often long for many of the songs on this show to be in our music mix wherever we dance.

    Reply
    • I never thought I’d see you post a song from Paramore! You are a hip, hip lady! Though I must say I’m not a big fan, if it weren’t for the Twilighter’s I don’t know that they would be as famous, though I may be wrong. I agree with Madonna, when I hear songs on DWTS I want to dance to them. There’s been a couple I’ve heard on there that I already wanted to do routines to and feel that now I can’t, b/c people will be like you got that from the show!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

