RSS Feed

The Showcase Dilemma-Reality Sets In

Part 3

To say that the bloom was off the rose by our 3rd lesson would be an understatement. The rose had faded; the foliage, brown and dry, had wafted to the ground; the stems had been pruned to the roots. I was now visualizing a disaster from which I would never recover. I couldn’t figure out what was happening. I couldn’t get anything right. The variations are now all new. We made some slight changes in the routine which I appreciate because that means that it  is original, not recycled. That still did not explain the train wreck I was experiencing.

What’s wrong with me that these slight changes have completely thrown me off?

What’s wrong with me that I can’t get the feet and the arms all doing the right thing?

What’s wrong with me that I can’t get the silver step right when I primarily dance bronze?

What’s wrong with me that I can’t remember that this set is a 6 measure count when the other sets are 8 measures? 

What’s wrong with me that the instructor is offering to simplify the routine if it’s “too hard”?

I was so frustrated that  I couldn’t even talk.

Lucky for all involved, the snow came down and I got a day off. I spent hours with pencil, paper, and music and broke down the mechanics of this partial routine. I dissected, diagramed, and danced every nuance that we had been taught. By the end of this time, I knew what I knew and knew what I needed to know. Now I felt some sense of control again. After presenting my instructor with my findings, she patiently explained these points of confusion and my confidence edged up a bit.  Then came the next 12 measures. Four measures were familiar. YES! The next 8 were all new; each count a different move. Ugh.

 We increased our lessons to 3 a week.  

 Stay tuned for part 4.

See You on the Floor!

 

2 responses »

  1. Just wait…you’re going to impress yourself by the time it is all said and done.

    Reply
  2. Debbie Sullivan

    Hi this is your mean dance instructor. You both are dancing the waltz so beautifully. I wish you could step outside yourself and see what I see. You will be so glad you did showcase. I do realize how scary this process can be and I am honored that you trust me enough to be in showcase. I will do everything in my abilty to have you ready. The most important thing is to enjoy dancing with each other. What could be more wonderful.
    I am so proud of you for having the courage to dance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

