RSS Feed

Nashville Ballroom Responds to my BLOG

A few weeks ago, I wrote about my experience attending  Nashville Ballroom’s Grand Opening. Though I am usually completely supportive of any dance venue that gives us dance opportunities, I did mention a few negatives in my post. In the interest of fairness, I am printing the response from Anthony Lewis, Dance Director of Nashville Ballroom. Thank you, Anthony, for being willing to have an honest, civil discussion.

Hi Kibble,

Thank you for coming to our grand opening dance party! We were glad to see so many people come and support us in our new venture! (180 people was far more than we could have asked for).

Thank you for the kind comments about our website and facebook page, and for mentioning our credentials as dancers and performers. We love what we do and look forward to continue sharing our vision of a place to dance for those who love it as much as we do.

We knew going in that some people will likely confuse and compare Nashville Ballroom with other dance venues in the area and would like to take this opportunity to express what sets us apart.

We are not a traditional ballroom dance school like so many before us. The term we like to use is that we cater to “Contemporary Social Dance”. While we do offer lessons in the more conservative styles of American Smooth and Rhythm, our primary focus leans towards dance that can can be used “out and about” in a nightclub dance setting.

Our staff, including myself, have an affinity for the social and club styles of West Coast Swing, Salsa, Country Two Step, and the like. Esentially, we want to teach people to dance things they will be able to use when having a night out at any one of the hipper, livelier night spots that Nashville is so well known for. Thus, our dance parties will continue to have the look and feel of having a night out at a dance club. Colored lights, a disco ball, and newer popular music are just a few of the things you will find at a party at Nashville Ballroom. Our parties are designed for the 21 and up crowd (children are not permitted to attend) just as it would be at a popular night spot.

We certainly respect those who enjoy the beauty and elegance of the Waltz, the passionate embrace of the Tango, or the fun and excitement of an energetic Jive. In fact, I myself began dancing traditional ballroom in 1995 and received my Gold Level teaching certificate in the late 90’s. Much of my success in the contemporary styles can be directly contributed to my training in Ballroom dancing. However, Nashville Ballroom is a Contemporary Social Dance studio and have found our home in downtown Nashville within minutes of the best in Nashville nightlife.

I hope this explains why our dance parties may seem different than what dancers in the area have come to expect at other studios.

Thanks again for coming, and Happy Dancing!

Anthony Lewis

11 responses »

  1. I get the part about being a “hip” place to be, but why call yourself Nashville Ballroom when in reality you’re a West Coast, Country, “Hip” dance studio. Most people who ballroom dance and who will google “Ballroom dance studios Nashville” are people looking for a studio that plays all styles of ballroom dance music: rumba, waltz, swing, tango, samba, foxtrot, etc. To me the name Nashville Ballroom is misleading at best.

    Reply
  2. Okay, Dad- great minds think alike. My point exactly- if your name is NASHVILLE BALLROOM, why would you not include common ballroom dances? They definitely need to change the name.

    Reply
  3. I would suggest that you research the meaning of the word “Ballroom”, it’s origins, and how it became associated with dancing.

    DEFINITION: The term ‘ballroom dancing’ is derived from the word ball, which in turn originates from the Latin word ballare which means ‘to dance’ (a ballroom being a large room specially designed for such dances).

    As mentioned in my earlier post, we do also offer lessons in the traditional “ballroom” dances such as waltz, foxtrot, rumba, etc. In fact, we played several of these dances at our Grand Opening dance party and continue to do so at our regular practice parties. These same dances can be found regularly on our group class schedule. In the month of October, we offer a total of 12 group classes in just these styles.

    In closing, we realize that some will likely confuse our format with others in Tennessee. While some may prefer a more traditional and conservative approach, others will find that our format is exactly what Nashville has been missing all along. We hope to continue to provide excellent instruction at fair prices and to share our passion for dance.

    Reply
    • I think you have underestimated the readers of my BLOG. I doubt that they feel the need to have ballroom defined for them. I wish you well in the dance community.

      Reply
    • The distinctions you made in your initial response between your studio and the more traditional ballroom studios were clear and understandable. I think your focus will address an aspect of dance instruction that is underserved.

      I went to your Web page to see how you made that clear when you had the opportunity to really represent your studio and sell me on what sets you apart from any other ballroom dance studio I find when I Google ballroom dance in Nashville. I didn’t find it. I’m afread you are failing to pitch to your target clientel.

      I do not speak Latin. I am fluent in twenty-first century American.

      I wish you well,

      Jeff Archer

      Reply
      • Jeff,
        You have offered some good thoughts on this debate. I hope those who need to listen are doing so. And, just for the record, I did have 2 years of high school Latin and can’t remember any of it. Thanks for reading and commenting. – Kibble

    • If you ever take lessons from Anthony, get used to the condesending attitude as he displays so openly above.

      Reply
    • You say,
      “others will find that our format is exactly what Nashville has been missing all along”

      If this is so true, Why is it then that you are not providing it?

      My guess is…Too many people hunting you down to collect money you owe them maybe.

      Reply
  4. Ballroom gives the impression of class. Playing vulgar music, no matter its popularity, is the opposite of class. Your message seems a bit mixed- maybe you need to refine your mission statement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

