RSS Feed

When Life Gives You Lemons…

I have never been a fan of the cliche′, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” Seems that when I have been given lemons, they get lost in the back of the refrigerator until they shrivel and become a fuzzy, green mess. Instead of being sweetened and iced to refreshment, they are disgustingly tossed into the trash can.

But, this past week, when Tom’s job responsibilities meant missing Monday and Wednesday dance events, I was determined to make lemonade and enjoy myself doing other things. I spent time with my daughter and grandkids. I hung out at the Warehouse one night. I stayed busy all week knowing that he would be home Friday evening in time for our weekly dance night at DanceQuest. Then, the call came. Delayed. No DanceQuest. A whole week without dancing? My attempt at optimism soured.

Sometime in the evening, while nursing my self pity, a friend called and told us that they were going to a club in the Boro to hear a band and invited us to join them. Starting late, this local gig was a perfect solution. She picked me up and off I go to a local club, by myself, to enjoy the music until Tom could get there. When he did, we were able to get in a full hour of dance and end the night with a late dinner with friends. A great way to end the week and salvage what would have been a crummy evening. Ahhhh, the cool, sweet taste of lemonade – made possible because a friend thought of us and took the time to make a phone call.  Thanks, Becky!

See You on the Floor!

9 responses »

  1. I now have a phrase to describe those moments when nothing else seems to do them justice: “Fuzzy green mess.” Ahhh . . . sometimes it’s comforting to know exactly where my way of thinking came from! haha

    Reply
  2. We have been so lucky to be the recipients of Becky’s caring ways as well. Wish we could have joined you Friday night…….hoping this third “recuperation” will be the charm for Paul. Look forward to seeing all of you this week!!

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a wonderful time!! Now, how about that masquerade ball? Would love to see pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

