RSS Feed

The Secret Is Out

This little ensemble cost me about the same as a latte and biscotti at Starbucks.

There’s a little secret that I have shared with only a few people. Something that was introduced to me by my daughter-in-law has now become a routine practice for me.

Burdened with the multiple dress codes of my life, it is sometimes difficult to meet all the expectations. Professional dress at work, the casual dance parties, the dressy dance parties, the semi and formal wear required 6 to 8 times a year, the casual and dress casual, all put this school teacher’s budget to the test.

So, when Hilary was in town during Christmas, I tried my first venture to the Thrift shopping. As one who loves department store quality, I had low expectations. We flicked hanger after hanger, holding prospects up for a closer inspection. We took piles to the dressing room for the drudgery of  trying on each piece. Some rated humorous in their poor fit, some rated a maybe, and some merited a smile and a nod.

Checking out at the register, I piled my stack on the counter and added some earrings just for fun. As the total was given, I gave them a $20 bill and got some change back!

Last week, I tried again and came out with 2 pairs of slacks, 2 tops, 2 shirts AND some earrings for under $30.

I won’t say that this new practice has cured me of department store clothes, but these wardrobe stretchers allow me to hit the department stores less frequently with a little less guilt.

If you haven’t seen Hilary’s BLOG on design, vintage clothing, and thrift shopping, give her a read at http://hilaryinspired.com/

See You on the Floor

5 responses »

  1. Thank you so, so much Kibble!! It warms my heart to hear that I’ve converted yet another to the fabulous ways of thrifting. 😉

    Reply
  2. Some of my all time favorites have come from consignment shops, thrift stores, yard sales and the occasional funky outlet type store. It takes some looking and time, but that feeling of ‘score’ is something else!

    Reply
  3. Just thought I would share my link for that are interested.

    http://hilaryinspired.com/

    Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

