RSS Feed

I Want to Look Like a Dancer but I Don’t Want to Look like a Dancer that’s Trying to Look Like a Dancer-PART 1

Surprisingly, when I made a statement like this to my dance instructor, she actually understood what I was saying. At a time when our lessons are becoming more technique-oriented, I worry that too much technique will give a negative impression to those around us. Will they think that I am just trying to pretend that I know what I’m doing or will they understand that we are simply taking our dancing to the next level? Is it worth the time and money we spend on techniques such as head movement, toe-heel patterns, or proper body alignments?

I’ve thought a lot about the dancers’ debate of technique VS no technique. One school of thought being that technique is essential if it is to be classified as ballroom; the other school believing that technique is unnecessary and that enjoying dance is all that matters. After time and cost analysis, I have come to the conclusion that the technique component in ballroom is very important based on two points.

Reason one is that of artistry. Speaking in traditional terms, we expect art and music to be esthetically pleasing so why shouldn’t we expect the same for dance? The framed dancers and the poised heads compliment a beautiful, graceful waltz. The rolling of the hips in the Cuban motion of latin dances is such an important part of that rhythmic expression. The brushing in the fox trot allows dancers to glide across the floor rather than giving the impression of popcorn dancing across the floor. When the technique is properly incorporated in the dances, it creates a complete musical picture.

Part 2 of  I Want to Look Like a Dancer but I Don’t Want to Look like a Dancer that’s Trying to Look Like a Dancer will be posted later.

See you on the Floor!

4 responses »

  1. Love this and totally get it!! Although I say “go with the technique”, there is something to be admired in those who have most concern for the joy of dancing rather than the exercise of proper technique.

    Reply
  2. The best part is that putting in the time and working on the technique usually leads to a more enjoyable social dancing experience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

