RSS Feed

“Did You Ever Know that You’re my Hero?”

imagesI love the support and encouragement that we find at the places where we dance.  One of my sweet friends at DanceQuest has a cheering section all of her own. She has a compliment for any dance – whether it be a grand performance or a monumental disaster. The other night at the Warehouse, a young lady called out a compliment as Tom and I went smoothing by. (I like to invent my own verbs.) Others have said that I am their model for what they want to be as dancers.

It would be easy to think ourselves better than we are if we listened to the nice comments people make. Though grateful for how far we have come in our dancing, I am not comfortable when people hold us up in admiration.

The truth is that I am surrounded in the dance community by people that are my heroes. When I look at the list of my heroes, I find that this determination is not made by what these people have gained but by what these people have lost.

For my friends who have lost their spouses, you are my heroes. I watch as you bravely search for your new, altered identity. I admire your fortitude to come out and transcend that wall of grief.

For those who have endured physical setbacks and continued to dance, you are my hero. You could have given up many times, but you held on to the hope that you could dance again.

To those who have used dance to overcome personal struggles, you are my hero. You searched for healing and found that dance can be a part of that process.

To those who own the dance studios, you are my hero. I know something of the demands of running a business and I am appreciative of what you do. You carry the risk and the work load that allows us to grow as ballroom dancers. You work incredibly long hours and put up with a wide range of personalities and ability levels. Sometimes, you even have to put up with a moody student. (Moi?)

So, thank you to all of my dancing buddies that show me strength. Though it may look like I am only watching my own steps, be assured that I am watching how gracefully you are taking yours.

See You on the Floor!

4 responses »

  1. i have found the support of the dance community amazing!! i appreciate the friendships and the friendliness of those with whom we dance. all it took was that first step. . . .i think our first step took about 6 years – to decide to really do something about learning how to dance.

    Reply
  2. Not only are you a good dancer, you’re an eloquent writer. It was a lovely column. j

    Original Message —– From: See You on the Floor To: wyliejac@aol.com Sent: Monday, June 10, 2013 6:14 PM Subject: [New post] “Did You Ever Know that You’re my Hero?”

    Kibble Walker posted: “I love the support and encouragement that we find at the places where we dance. One of my sweet friends at DanceQuest has a cheering section all of her own. She has a compliment for any dance – whether it be a grand performance or a monumental disaster. “

    Reply

Leave a Reply

